Reflections on 2015

At the start of 2015 I had one main goal: Have 5 books published by the end of the year. I fell short by one but getting four out was not only amazing but a true struggle. My writing took on a life of its own forcing me to accomplish my mission. Not once did I think I would not succeed. Naivety on my part? Possibly. As someone who is anal retentive, striving for perfection, I found that I am not perfect in any way. So many mistakes littered my path yet the journey continued. So, what have I learned?

Editing is a monster. A blackened, ragged creature drenched in the blood of souls and red ink. It is also your BFF. Having such sights to show you deep within your psyche. I knew about proofreading but not the other types of editing. Thus, when I went searching for better ones than my previous experience, I came across that long list of wordsmith experts. I realized that I needed a developmental editor and boy did I find one. He tore my manuscript apart and gave me a what for. Which I needed. After crying and laughing simultaneously at the sea of notes in the comments section, my resolve was clear.

Now, when I write, the words take more thinking before landing in the manuscript. Proofreading is not just about correct spelling and grammar because we all know MS Word misses a lot. I go word by word, line by line, reading my story out loud. Is it tedious? Absolutely! My brain hurts every time I complete this task.

Social Media, the three horned devil. The leviathan lurking in an ocean of terrifying minds bearing all their joy and shame. Yes, I am talking about the unholy trinity of Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. 2015 found me diving in and barely keeping afloat, constantly gasping for air as I came up from its depths. Not a fan. They are a necessary evil if you want to expand your reach. In conjunction with those demons comes blogs and websites. I am still in the process of tweaking both my sites to maximize my brand.  Blogging is not quite my forte but I am always willing to learn new tricks.

How I write has evolved without my knowledge and it didn’t come to light until NaNoWriMo. I considered myself a pantser because that is how I have done it since the age of twelve. At some point I began to create plot points; the structure border lining on outline. The words flowed and by the time November came around and I wrapped my chunky talons around NaNo, I finished in 17 days. That is the first time that has ever happened in all the years of my doing NaNo. My new title is Plotser. I pants each plot point.

On a personal note, I think my creativity has grown exponentially. Around this time in 2014, I knew very little about publishing a book, let alone marketing. I finished college in January of 2015 with a degree in Business Administration with Emphasis on Entrepreneurship. That program was an eye opener and for some reason I was afraid to implement what I had learned towards my writing. I can tell you that I am no longer afraid.

2016 will be another year of trials and tribulations but I have no intentions of giving up my dreams. My goal for the new year is to have 10 books published by the end of it. So watch me do it in a lack of glittery style and faltering grace (because I am a total klutz). I look forward to bringing you more crazy Space opera with a little bit of Romance and maybe a bigger touch of Gore.

Have a wonderful and prosperous NEW YEAR!!

One thought on “Reflections on 2015

  1. swiveltam

    Whew, sounds like a heck of a good year. I too, have a love/hate relationship with editing. Kudos for you to hiring a professional editor. I love my gal, my critique group, and my wonderful beta readers. I’m hoping to have two books out this year. Three if I push it, but I’m workshopping (through my critique group on of the MSS).

    Thanks for stopping by my site, too!
    ~ Tam Francis ~
    http://www.girlinthejitterbugdress.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

